Tarun Reflex

September 22, 2008

The New7Wonders of Nature campaign will significantly raise awareness of the incredible variety and beauty of nature around us. As the slogan says, “If we want to save anything, we first need to truly appreciate it!” This is something that is very important – more awareness and more tourism income means that these natural treasures can be better preserved for future generations.
There are three stages in the New7Wonders of Nature campaign: the National Qualification, the Nomination stage and the Finalist stage:
  1. On 1 January 2009, only one national nominee per country will be allowed to proceed: the highest ranked in the voting on 31 December 2008. Therefore until the end of 2008, countries with more than one nominee will be racing to choose the national representative that is allowed to continue into 2009. Nominees shared by more than one country will remain and continue into 2009.
  2. In the Nomination stage, voting for nominees will continue through July 7, 2009. Then the New7Wonders of Nature Panel of Experts, under the leadership of Prof. Federico Mayor, former Director-General of UNESCO, will review the top 77 nominees and choose the 21 finalists, to be announced on 21 July 2009.
  3. For the Finalist stage, the 21 New7Wonders of Nature Finalists will be put to popular vote in early 2009. Voting will continue throughout 2009 and into 2010. During this time, the New7Wonders World Tour will visit each of the Finalists to allow them to present themselves to the voters across the globe.

    The final declaration of the New7Wonders of Nature will be in 2010.

Vote for Ganga,Sundarbans and other Indian sites at http://www.new7wonders.com

I voted for :

    * Ganges, River
    * Kalahari, Desert
    * Yellowstone, National Park
    * Sundarbans, Forest
    * Great Barrier Reef, Coral Reef
    * Amazon, River/Forest
    * Western Ghats


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: